We are ...

An artist-led gallery, studios and social workspace in Liverpool.
Find out more »

Contact us

Unit 3, Vauxhall Business Centre
131 Vauxhall Road,
Liverpool L3 6BN UK

Join us on


About us

The Royal Standard is an artist-led gallery, studios and social workspace in Liverpool

Through a dynamic and challenging gallery programme that brings together local, national and international artists, we aim to showcase the most exciting, innovative exhibitions and events that we can, working with the most outstanding recent graduates and emerging artists as well as more established practitioners and other artist-led initiatives.

The Royal Standard is dedicated to promoting exchange, dialogue and experimentation, providing a supportive and critically engaged environment to work in, and acting as a social hub for our studio membership of over 40 artists, as well as the wider cultural community. Our multi-purpose project space offers a testing ground for artists to push their ideas in new directions, and a setting for more spontaneous events and activity happening independently to the main gallery programme.

The Royal Standard was established in 2006 by four Liverpool-based artists in response to the need for a new artist-led organisation that would operate somewhere in between the city’s grass-roots DIY initiatives and the more established arts institutions. Originally housed in a former pub in Toxteth, in 2008 The Royal Standard undertook an ambitious relocation and expansion into a larger industrial space on the Northern periphery of the city centre, relaunching to acclaim for the 2008 Liverpool Biennial.

The Royal Standard is currently run by a team of four to six directors, with a new team appointed on a two-year rolling basis, enabling the organisation’s ideas and energy to remain fresh and continuing to offer opportunities to new groups of emerging artists.

Current directors:


Ellie Barrett

Emma Curd

Greg Herbert

Charlotte Horn

Ashleigh Owen

Rachel White (executive director)


Former directors:


Louis Palliser-Ames

Rachel Marcroft

James Harper

Mike Aitken

Amy Jones

Peter Martin

Elizabeth Murphy

Dave Evans

Fran Disley

Madeline Hall

Andy Foulds

Natalie Hughes

Sam Venables

Laura Robertson

Lucy McDonald

Hamish McLain

Jemma Egan

Laurence Payout

Gabriel Stones

Penny Whitehead

Jim Buso

Kevin Hunt

Eleanor Hawkridge

Sean Hawkridge

Paul Luckraft